Brothers to the End: An interview with Ben “Strangulate” Huyghe and Mike “Culapse” Chaves

Brothers to the End:

An interview with Ben “Strangulate” Huyghe and Mike “Culapse” Chaves

Winners of the Evo Games Gears of War 3 Doubles Tournament At GottaCon 2012

We had the chance to talk to the Duo right after their Gears of War 3 Gottacon Victory and they answered a few questions about competitive gaming with the Gears of War franchise.

How did you feel about the competition here tonight?

Mike: I don’t know man, you answer that.

Ben:  I knew there were some good console players here, so I figured they would be decent. I wasn’t scared. I know I’m the best, so I perform to be the best.

Did you take any steps to prepare yourselves?

Mike: None.

Ben: I played doubles today on Gamebattles and I listened to some mad beats on my ipod yo.

How do you feel about the LAN environment in comparison to online play?

Mike: It’s a lot more reliable in terms of competition, and a lot more exciting. It’s more intimidating.

Ben: There’s more pressure to perform and more skill. It’s go big or go home.

How do you feel about Epic Games recent decision to make purchase of the new downloadable content mandatory for continued use of their dedicated servers?

Ben: They’re going back on their word, but at the same time it does make sense.

If you had one thing you could change about Victoria’s competitive community, what would it be?

Ben: A lot of gears players have to look inside and decide to love it and improve. They need to showcase the cool things about gears at its best.

What are your plans for Gears of War 3 and competitive gaming moving forward?

Ben: I recently attended a tournament in New Jersey and placed 5th out of 32 teams. Major League Gaming is adding Gears of War 3 to the circuit around June so we’ll see what happens.

Mike: I’ll play until someone beats me.

Benjamin Huyghe is currently a top player on the Gears of War 3 Gamebattles ladders, and attends various LAN tournaments on a regular basis. Mike Chaves does not own an Xbox.

Interview by Spencer ” Spitfire” Alexandruik

Leave a Reply

